Congratulations to our 2009  prize and award winners

On Friday, 27 August 2010, the School of Electrical and Information Engineering held its annual prize giving ceremony in recognition of our outstanding, attended by prize donors, the prize winners and their family and guests.

The Dean addressed the gathering and highlighted the importance of recognizing outstanding achievement in students and staff. He thanked the companies, professional bodies and the Foundation who have generously supported the program.

George Maltabarow, President of the Foundation, presented the EIE Foundation Prizes for Final Year Achievement and Communication Skills. Representatives from Engineers Australia, AI Group and CSIRO and the Head of School presented prizes.

The generous support provided to the School from the industry and the profession continued again this year.

The School would like to congratulate all its prize winners for 2009.

The complete list of prizewinners is below.

University Medal

Amy Dee Fu

Dean's List for Academic Excellence 

Bachelor of Engineering (Electrical Engineering)

Amy Dee Fu

Bachelor of Engineering (Telecommunications Engineering)

Rohen Sood

Scholarship recipients:

CSIRO ICT Centre IT Undergraduate Entrance Scholarship
Phillip Ydia
Chunyang Liu
Liana Paolino

Prize winners:

EIE Foundation Prize for Communication Skills:

Suen Xin Chew (1st Year)
Mattia Pagani (2nd Year)
Alan Luc (3rd Year)
Timothy O’Keefe (Final Year)

EIE Foundation Prize for Final Year Achievement:

Sandhya Madakasira (Computer Engineering)
Cameron James Higgins (Electrical Engineering)
Timothy O’Keefe (Software Engineering)
Rohen Sood (Telecommunications Engineering)\

The Australian Electrical and Electronics Manufacturer’s Association of NSW Prize in Electrical Power Engineering:

Jianxi Li

Engineers Australia Electrical and IT Branch Student Prize in Software Engineering:

Timothy O’Keefe

Engineers Australia Electrical and IT Branch Student Prize in Electrical Engineering:

Jianxi Li

G S Caird Scholarship in Electrical and Information Engineering:

Alan Luc

Ian James McPherson Prize:

Amy Dee Fu

Percy L Weston Prize for Proficiency:

Joshua Walker

R E Jeffries Memorial Prize:

Chih-yu John Yang

Vern Kenna Awards in Electrical and Information Engineering (shared):

Suen Xin Chew
Edwin Brackenreg
Mattia Pagani
Zhiheng Zhao